Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Weathering  (Read 2180 times)
AerykGunn
Knight Templar

Force Alignment: -27

Jetiise Kyramud

« on: June 26, 2011, 05:18:31 AM »

okay so I'm new to modifying sabers and stuff and I don't want to do anything to ruin the saber, because once I do something to it it's... basically stuck like that so.. anyone have a tutorial or guide to how to do weathering to a saber? I mostly want to make it look... well.. combat damaged... like it's seen a lot of combat. scuffs, scorches, beat up, etc and maybe even <  < cut one of the prongs at the end of the emitter (it's a catalyst, though I'm unsure about this idea) Any help would be appreciated Smiley thank you.

Aeryk Gunn

Sabers I have:            Sabers I want:
Catalyst-Blue              Dark War Glaive x2
Dark Initiate V2-Red    Raven
                                 Consular
                                 Dark Shock
                                 Prophecy LE
Aliit ori'shya tal'din

Jodaan
Knight Arbiter

Force Alignment: -36

Owner of "We Cook Ewoks", Fine Restaurant

« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2011, 10:19:31 AM »

You have the "soft" way, you have the "hard" way.

Soft : you work with paint and precise tools to make you saber LOOK weathered. But he will just be worked to looks like.

Hard : let it fall some times on the ground, make some scratch yourself. USE IT ! Mine has already hit the ground while practicing a couple of times and each scratch added is a story.

For other effects, you can use some enamel paint. I can give you a tip I earned for an other hobby of mines : Figs (WH 40K mostly - Orks and Tau Wink )

Take some foam (blisters' foam) and some paper towel. Put some paint on the foam and dry the excess of paint with the paper. Then test the effect on some paper : you will have a doted pattern that looks like dots of rust or scratches.