Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: What is a Lightsaber to you?  (Read 6521 times)
Master Uilos
Resident Master
Knight Captain

Force Alignment: 121

Snark Jedi

« on: July 04, 2012, 07:57:38 PM »

Simple enough question as that.

In NY Jedi, whenever one of us is feeling the urge to wax philosophic, we generally ask this question. The correct answer usually depends on the point the instructor is making, and the answers from the students are normally as varied.

Some will say "it's a killing weapon." Others will say "it's a prop, a toy to amuse ourselves and others when we use it". The question has no real answer, only true ones.

My question to you is what does it mean to you? This also leads into the question of "Why are you here, doing lightsaber combat?"

To me, the Lightsaber is a symbol (I'm a Jungian Psychologist. OF COURSE I THINK IT'S A SYMBOL). It is a symbol of skill for both the light side and the dark side. A lightsaber is an ungainly weapon that is more likely to kill it's user than it's opponent. To wield one correctly means dedication, training, and trust in the force. To carry one is to say "I am allowed to hold this, for the Force is my Ally/Tool."

What are your thoughts?

Pedantic Lightsaber Philosopher. Stage Combat Junkie. Cranky New York Street Mage.

Master of the Snark Side of the Force

Long Live The Fighters

Master Lucien Kane
Resident Master
Knight Commander

Force Alignment: 296

Jedi Knight of the Old Republic

« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 08:12:12 PM »

My lightsaber is a symbol to me as well. To me it is a symbol of my struggle with the dark side. It is a symbol of my dedication to my Faith. It is a tool for me to reach people. It is a weapon with which I can defend the weak. It is a reminder that my real sword lies in the Spirit, and a tool for me to get my body soul and mind in harmony.