Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: My Obsidian Review  (Read 2420 times)
TheOaf
Knight Lance Corporal

Force Alignment: 13

Hrawr. Hrr. Etc.

« on: July 20, 2011, 06:11:35 AM »

This is a quick review of my Obsidian soundboard.  I’m going to make it a pretty no-frills affair.

I’ll start off by saying this is a POSITIVE review.  I plan to order more of these (pending sound fonts) and my overall experience was positive.  Also as a reference I used all MHS parts except the Obsidian.  My wiring consisted of a series of quick connects, a 3.7 Li-Ion battery with charge port, a green rebel star LED, TCSS momentary push button (standard style) and a TCSS speaker.

I’m a casual DIY sabersmith.  I discovered the hobby in February of this year and have built 3 sabers so far with another in the planning stages.  I’m no expert, not by a long shot, and all the talk of MA’s and voltage and everything is about a mile over my head.  I like things simple.
I ordered Obsidian the weekend of July 4th.  It arrived about a week later and the box was pretty banged up.  The UPS guy (who happened to be my dad) told me it was in that condition when he got ahold of it that day.  I was concerned my new board was already broken but thankfully everything was fine.  I order a LOT of things online, and a huge amount of it is shipped through UPS and my packages rarely ever arrive damaged, but for future orders I would really like the option to ship via USPS instead.

Upon opening the box I was a little surprised to see Obsidian in a fairly ratty plastic bag with no instructions or even a thank you card.  I don’t imagine a black and white sheet of paper with a wiring schematic with a little receipt would increase the cost too much, but whatever.

My internet was down that day and I didn’t have access to the forum so it sat on my counter until the next afternoon.