Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: First Saber - Dark Monarch 10/5 stars  (Read 3533 times)
theAfanc
Knight Lance Corporal

Force Alignment: 14

Welsh Mythological Lake Monster

« on: September 29, 2016, 01:58:00 PM »

The first thing I noticed about the Monarch is that it doesn't seem to be super popular.  No one in my saber club of 30+ people had ever used one and none of the people with their saber collection listed in their signatures seems to have one.  So despite it being my first saber and my utter lack of what to look for in a saber or how to review one, I am doing so anyway!  

First and foremost, I gotta say - I LOVE this thing.  It is better then my wildest dreams could have imagined.  I will be the first to admit I am not a Star Wars fan.  I have never seen any of the movies (thought that will be changing shortly) and I honestly couldn't care less at this point about the universe.  But I am a stunt artist and choreographer, a martial artist, a masquerade performer and I loves me some weapons.  SO after watching my local saber team perform, I just had to get in on it.  I went with my friend to the US booth at the convention we were at and while she was picking out her pieces, I was picking up and playing with some of the pre-made sabers they had on the shelves.  After holding a few of them, I picked up a Monarch and instantly it felt right.  I didn't have the money or the need/interest at the time and I went home without it.  I checked out the website when we got home and essentially, laughed at the price.  And my life went on.  But three weeks ago, we officially joined the team and after one practice (two whole hours) of playing and using a loner saber, I KNEW I needed one to myself.