Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Can you change the "...obsidian!" power-up sound?  (Read 476 times)
Thanamira
Knight Major
*

Force Alignment: 143
Posts: 409


WWW
« on: January 04, 2017, 12:24:21 PM »

When I put in my batteries, I presume the sound board is booting up, and I got the rushing "...obsidian!*clang!*" sound.

Is there a way to change that?  Or at least turn down the volume?
Logged

President, Boston Jedi
www.bostonjedi.org
                      
Light side points appreciated!
Thanamira school of staff aesthetic preference: http://www.saberforum.com/index.php?topic=32415.msg492503#msg492503

Lord Rapine
Grand Moff of The Warlord Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -2023
Posts: 6617


Can still be found...


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2017, 12:48:16 PM »

When I put in my batteries, I presume the sound board is booting up, and I got the rushing "...obsidian!*clang!*" sound.

Is there a way to change that?  Or at least turn down the volume?
If you have the Obsidian V3 or V4, you can change the "boot-up" sound to whatever you want.

And yes, even leave that slot empty, so it would make no sound at all. Smiley

Logged



Sabers:
                                                                "Warlord" ~ TRI "Deep Red" - One of a kind.
Emerald Manticore ~ BR          Dark Initiate V4 (saberpike) ~ BR       Prophecy V3 ~ CG         Dominix V2 ~ BR           Archon V2 ~ CG
Dark Catalyst ~ BR                     Dark Sentinel V4 ~ GB             Emperor's Hand ~ DVA      Dominix LE V4 ~ BR

Obese Wan Kenobese
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 224
Posts: 913


Fretful Instigator of the Prismatic Order


« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2017, 01:40:32 PM »

No. The screaming whisper "Obsidian!" when putting the batteries in is not a boot up sound for any font. It's the default of the proprietary sound board. Mine does it, and I've changed all my fonts and boots with no affect on that sound. I simply put my palm over the speaker when I put the second battery in. It's quite grating when I forget.
Logged

Selfish passion is unquenching.
What strength have you when you are a slave to your passions?
What power without strength of character?
To self centered rage, you will be chained.
The dark side is no victory.

The long path to peace is through balanced emotions.
The first step to gaining knowledge is recognizing your own ignorance.
Serenity is patient, not passionate satisfaction.
Find harmony by understanding chaos.
Become one with the force, which will never die.

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 1018
Posts: 3574



« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2017, 01:43:29 PM »

I simply put my palm over the speaker when I put the second battery in.

Same here.
Logged



4 Aeons so far...

Thanamira
Knight Major
*

Force Alignment: 143
Posts: 409


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2017, 01:47:05 PM »

How unfortunate.  I get that the makers want people to know about their product, but this...  is not a winning strategy for me.

Thanks for the replies, everyone Smiley
Logged

President, Boston Jedi
www.bostonjedi.org
                      
Light side points appreciated!
Thanamira school of staff aesthetic preference: http://www.saberforum.com/index.php?topic=32415.msg492503#msg492503

Lord Rapine
Grand Moff of The Warlord Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -2023
Posts: 6617


Can still be found...


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2017, 01:49:54 PM »

HMPH.

My Manticore says "Blackstar" when I put in batteries.  

Guess it's a one-off thing.

Edit: I was just playing around with my Aeon.  It has V4 sound, and I wasn't able to make that happen without wiping everything.

My Manticore has V3 sound, so I think I just formatted the entire bank, and didn't add a "tag" sound.  All I can think of.
Logged



Sabers:
                                                                "Warlord" ~ TRI "Deep Red" - One of a kind.
Emerald Manticore ~ BR          Dark Initiate V4 (saberpike) ~ BR       Prophecy V3 ~ CG         Dominix V2 ~ BR           Archon V2 ~ CG
Dark Catalyst ~ BR                     Dark Sentinel V4 ~ GB             Emperor's Hand ~ DVA      Dominix LE V4 ~ BR

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 1018
Posts: 3574



« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2017, 02:38:37 PM »

On my Electrum Wind, it will even do it if I have the saber set to the mute setting.  Like OWK said, it's probably something that is embedded in the V4 board that can't be changed.
Logged



4 Aeons so far...

Lord Rapine
Grand Moff of The Warlord Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -2023
Posts: 6617


Can still be found...


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2017, 02:49:16 PM »

Well, I was just playing around with my Manticore, and although I'm not able to see what fonts I have assigned, there does seem to be an extra slot for "boot-up" sound.

I included a video of me inserting the batteries into my Manticore, so nobody thinks I'm dreaming:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pj-C__vh99Y" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pj-C__vh99Y</a>
Logged



Sabers:
                                                                "Warlord" ~ TRI "Deep Red" - One of a kind.
Emerald Manticore ~ BR          Dark Initiate V4 (saberpike) ~ BR       Prophecy V3 ~ CG         Dominix V2 ~ BR           Archon V2 ~ CG
Dark Catalyst ~ BR                     Dark Sentinel V4 ~ GB             Emperor's Hand ~ DVA      Dominix LE V4 ~ BR

Jediseth
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 421
Posts: 1529


"If I told you, you wouldn't like it." Han Solo


« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2017, 04:00:24 PM »

Ya your not dreaming. Unless we both are. That's unusual that your saber boots up like that.
Logged

Guardian : GB, FOC Red, V4, 11-15                        Reaper: V4, BR, 4-17
Chosen One CE : Emerald, V4, 12-15
Consular: Emerald V4, 1-16
Manticore: BR, FOC Orange, QD, V4, 11-16
Monarch: Emerald, V4, 2016 Autumn Raffle -1st
Arbiter: V4, SD, Silver FOC, QD, 3-17
Archon V2.1, Diamond, 4-17

Reaper Crystal Chamber Reveal

Thanamira
Knight Major
*

Force Alignment: 143
Posts: 409


WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2017, 12:52:52 PM »

How interesting.  Makes me wonder if it's just a memory bank that the Obsidian wizard isn't writing to.

I wouldn't be surprised if US's purchase agreement is not to give out software that overwrites that, but I'm a bit surprised the community hasn't figured it out.  (Dammit, Jim, I'm a software engineer, not a hardware geek - I don't have the apps or knowhow to poke around these boards.)
Logged

President, Boston Jedi
www.bostonjedi.org
                      
Light side points appreciated!
Thanamira school of staff aesthetic preference: http://www.saberforum.com/index.php?topic=32415.msg492503#msg492503

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 1018
Posts: 3574



« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2017, 01:05:53 PM »

Yeah, it's probably just a protected bank in the memory that the Obsidian Launcher can't see or write to.  And, that's OK, because Ultra Sabers makes the board and, if they want it to do that, then that's how it should be.  Honestly, I don't find it a big deal that it does that.  I just put the speaker against my palm when I put the batteries in.
Logged



4 Aeons so far...

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Send this topic | Print
Jump to: