Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: What’s Wrong With The New SW Films?  (Read 2979 times)
StoryDtechtive
Knight Commander

Force Alignment: 91

Light always casts shadow/Darkness defines light!

« on: January 25, 2019, 07:12:07 PM »

I’ve avoided this topic because it has caused so much animosity in the SW community. And while I don’t say it is impossible to have a perfectly good explaination for the direction the recent movies have taken—and I believe JJ Abrams is capable of doing that—most of the problems can be summed up in two words: Story Structure.

As a fan, I’m annoyed with the character development. As a writer, I have to look at what’s going on through different eyes.  And here, I’m not entirely satisfied either.  There are several points to be made, and I’ll touch on a few in brief. If anyone wants further explanations, I would be glad to go deeper if anyone is interested.

First of all, let me say that story structure is a very malleable canvas. It can also seem formulaic in the hands of most Hollywood blockbusters and the writers who cater to the same film with different (yet similar) characters, and different (yet similar) circumstances. It becomes like pop music where the corporations backing them wants a hit, so it all has to seem pretty much like the films they last made money from. This is why corporate thinking is essentially ruining all creative entertainment.

The recent SW films are not quite as formulaic as most of the blockbuster films. And this could result in a better payoff, provided there’s a plan to pull things together in the end. But the structural integrity has taken some risky turns I don’t understand, and are bound to rock the fans. This could be intentional as well, as a writer’s job is supposed to be able to get a strong emotional response from their audience. Love or hate, it doesn’t matter, the writer wins because they achieved their goal.