Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: LED Module compatibility query  (Read 154 times)
Wobbywoo
Knight Officer
*

Force Alignment: -18
Posts: 142



« on: March 13, 2019, 09:09:40 AM »

Hey there,

I feel a bit guilty asking this here but I'm not really sure where else to ask so here goes.
So I've been working on my Gallifreyan Destiny project (still not finished after all this time!) and I'm looking to upgrade the LED from the single-LED Consular Green that I currently have installed, to an RGB Tri Cree to allow for colour mixing and FOC. As it stands the saber includes an Ultrasabers War Glaive emitter, and therefore an MLS unit.

I'm working to a really tight budget and am UK-based, so I'm hoping to buy the LED spider locally (to avoid import duty) and simply place it in the MLS unit I already own.
My question therefore is: is this possible? Is the Ultrasabers MLS unit compatible with Tri Cree LED spiders?

(Mods - please feel free to move this thread if I've posted in the wrong section.)

Thanks,

Wobbywoo
Logged



Dark side points please, if necessary!

Sabers:

(_(_(_(_(|o|(((|_|]____Dominix v2_______________)

(⁅⁆} {≣≣(__)≍(o__)≍(⚟__Gallifreyan Destiny___________)

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 2000
Posts: 6545


I build sabers


« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 04:35:47 PM »

What's an LED Spider? Do you mean the star pad?



If so, then the LED heat sink already has one inside, and the Tri CREE ones are the same size, as the above image illustrates. So, yes, it will fit.

Unless you mean something else, then some elaboration on what you mean would be helpful.
Logged

Wobbywoo
Knight Officer
*

Force Alignment: -18
Posts: 142



« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 09:36:45 AM »

Yep, that's exactly what I mean. I knew it began with an s, just forgot the word itself *facepalm*

Thanks so much for your speedy reply! Have a point  Grin
Logged



Dark side points please, if necessary!

Sabers:

(_(_(_(_(|o|(((|_|]____Dominix v2_______________)

(⁅⁆} {≣≣(__)≍(o__)≍(⚟__Gallifreyan Destiny___________)

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 2000
Posts: 6545


I build sabers


« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2019, 04:47:19 PM »

Not a problem.

Note: You'll also need a Tri CREE optic when you do that switch.
Logged

Wobbywoo
Knight Officer
*

Force Alignment: -18
Posts: 142



« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2019, 09:45:09 AM »

By optic do you mean the lens?
I'm vaguely aware that I'll need to buy it separately so thanks for the reminder 😊
And as an aside - will I need additional resistors or will the one BuckPuck wired in parallel do the trick?
Logged



Dark side points please, if necessary!

Sabers:

(_(_(_(_(|o|(((|_|]____Dominix v2_______________)

(⁅⁆} {≣≣(__)≍(o__)≍(⚟__Gallifreyan Destiny___________)

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 2000
Posts: 6545


I build sabers


« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2019, 05:50:22 PM »

Yes, the lens. The buck puck is all you need to use, it will be much more efficient than resistors.
Logged

Wobbywoo
Knight Officer
*

Force Alignment: -18
Posts: 142



« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2019, 12:11:55 PM »

I think I didn't quite get my point across properly. What I mean is - I currently have one buckpuck running one LED. Would I therefore need two more buckpucks, one for each additional LED, since they're all different colours and therefore different ratings?
Logged



Dark side points please, if necessary!

Sabers:

(_(_(_(_(|o|(((|_|]____Dominix v2_______________)

(⁅⁆} {≣≣(__)≍(o__)≍(⚟__Gallifreyan Destiny___________)

tx_tuff
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -1008
Posts: 3843



« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2019, 10:43:46 PM »

I think I didn't quite get my point across properly. What I mean is - I currently have one buckpuck running one LED. Would I therefore need two more buckpucks, one for each additional LED, since they're all different colours and therefore different ratings?
No, they can all run off if one buckpuck.

Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk

Logged

scifidude79
8-bit Defender of the Aeon Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 2000
Posts: 6545


I build sabers


« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2019, 11:52:05 PM »

No, you were clear. tx_tuff has the answer, the puck will run all LEDs just fine. I've even done a Tri CREE with two mains and a flash on clash LED running off of a single buck puck. The puck is designed to deliver the correct voltage to each LED. It's an incredible piece of technology.
Logged

Wobbywoo
Knight Officer
*

Force Alignment: -18
Posts: 142



« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2019, 03:43:59 AM »

Fantastic! Additional points to both of you, you've been a fantastic help!
Logged



Dark side points please, if necessary!

Sabers:

(_(_(_(_(|o|(((|_|]____Dominix v2_______________)

(⁅⁆} {≣≣(__)≍(o__)≍(⚟__Gallifreyan Destiny___________)

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Send this topic | Print
Jump to: