Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Obsidian V3 Problem - Can't Write to Board!  (Read 2040 times)
d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« on: October 21, 2021, 07:47:39 PM »

Hello!

So recently acquired a Dark Apprentice V4 w/ an Obsidian V3 board. Tested it out, worked fine. Went to plug it in because I wanted to swap fonts on it. As far as I could tell, I followed the instructions that came with my saber. It acted like it was writing the new font, but when I check afterwards, the launcher's showing me there's no font written to the board.

Read through the forum. I was thinking low battery. Charged them up. Every time now I plug the battery back in, the blade flashes 3-4 times. No sound (Yes, battery is inserted correctly). Computer recognizes the soundboard, as does the launcher. Tried to "reset," and it either doesn't correct the issue or gets stuck on the "please waiting, reading device info" window. When I try to re-write to the board, even trying to re-write the default "Obsidian" soundfont is unsuccessful. Acts like it's writing for a while, but again, the launcher's showing me the board has no fonts on it.

Is there something I'm missing? I can't imagine I bricked the board. From other posts it sounds like erasing the files on the board is common but fixable. I must be missing something....





EDIT: Will take another crack at charging battery. Might not have been fully re-charged as I thought. Still not sure if this is the problem, though....
Logged

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2021, 04:30:50 AM »

UPDATE: Verified battery had a full charge to it using a multimeter, before and after using the charger. Only other thing I can think of is a software glitch. Will try a fresh install on a different computer and see if I yield different results.

I'm open to questions or suggestions in the meantime.
Logged

nunya
Knight Captain
*

Force Alignment: 59
Posts: 405



« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2021, 07:26:26 AM »

Is this for a string blade build?  i have the board from prior to that release so i expect it is different now regardless of lighting option?
i am not going to be able to help you directly but emailing customer service (info@ultrasabers.com) should be done as soon as you can.
Forum members may be able to help while you await a reply.  You may also try the chat on the main site - see if they can assist.

the force. may it be with you.
Logged

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2021, 08:14:07 AM »

No, it's not a sting blade. Just has the one color, silver. And yeah, I might need to reach out to customer service at this point.
Logged

nunya
Knight Captain
*

Force Alignment: 59
Posts: 405



« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2021, 10:56:10 AM »

No, it's not a sting blade. Just has the one color, silver. And yeah, I might need to reach out to customer service at this point.
word.
also confirm you are getting a stable connection between your machine and board through that cable.  I have some micro-USBs that start okay then lose connection based on angle of the dangle.
i doubt that is the cause of your issue but good to make sure with a different cord.
customer service will probably ask for details about your set-up: operating system version and platform, version of the ultrasaber software, t.k.s.
Logged

KaiserSosay
Duke of the Diamond Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -738
Posts: 1666


« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2021, 09:35:43 PM »

I has been a couple of years since I've had a V3 or V4 so my info may not be 100% accurate. 

 With the V4 I could plug  into a computer and see all of the installed fonts. I could delete and add fonts. I could even add or delete individual sound files.


With the V3 everything would be working sound wise while I played with the saber. When I plug the V3 into my computer NO SOUND FILES WOULD APPEAR. I don't know why, that's just how it was. So every time I plugged in the V3 it appeared blank or empty of sound files. If I just exited the program (properly) it would function normally with the whatever sound files were on it.
 If I change even one sound on the V3, I would have to reload all the sounds. Then exit properly and the sounds would be there and working. Immediately plug back into the computer and it would appear to have no sound files loaded, but they were just there and working.

 So long story short, load your sound files. All of them, Boot, On, Off, Idle and so on down the list. Write to the board and exit. Turn your saber on to verify the sound files if you have a V3. Don't just trust the program. Verify by using the saber. It always worked that way for me!

 Other thing to keep in mind;
   
V3 and V4 volume level is controlled in the computer program. Check volume level before you exit the program.

What sound files are you using? Not all files will work and they do not have the same volume levels. Sound fonts from the "other guys" are always low volume.

Not all data cables are the same. I'm assuming you are using a data cable because you got the saber to actually connect to your computer.  If your cable is older it could take longer to pass the info back and forth. So be patient and let the program do its thing.  Also the larger the sound file the longer it will take.

I hope some of my information is helpful.  Like I said it's been awhile since I've had a V3.
 Let us know when you get it figured out!
Logged


d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2021, 12:42:39 PM »

Emailed customer service. We'll see what they say.

I'm honestly perplexed. It's able to identify the soundboard's serial number and firmware version. Even updated the firmware on it prior to any writing attempts. And using the v2.86 Windows version of the Launcher. Tried multiple micro-USB cables, different USB ports. Still same results.

I did try to connect it to my Mac, but my Mac told me the device was incompatible with that version of the launcher. Odd cuz the Launcher and the board are the latest...as far as I know. (Mac version I have is v2.64)
Logged

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2021, 04:25:39 PM »

When I plugged the saber in the first time (and subsequent times when re-installing the driver) it tells me it's installing "Obsidian Driver," but when it's complete it says USB Serial Device (COM8). Is it possible somewhere there it's getting screwed up?

The Launcher can identify the soundboard's serial number and firmware, but it times out on any writing attempts on it.
Logged

KaiserSosay
Duke of the Diamond Order
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: -738
Posts: 1666


« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2021, 07:56:24 PM »

When I plugged the saber in the first time (and subsequent times when re-installing the driver) it tells me it's installing "Obsidian Driver," but when it's complete it says USB Serial Device (COM8). Is it possible somewhere there it's getting screwed up?

The Launcher can identify the soundboard's serial number and firmware, but it times out on any writing attempts on it.



I'm no computer expert but it sounds like you need to update your "usb drivers for windows".


There is a lot of good information in this post. Maybe something in here will help.
http://www.saberforum.com/index.php?topic=20381.0
Logged


d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2021, 11:10:14 PM »

I certainly won't rule it out being a driver issue. I just find it odd that it can read data from the board but can no longer write anything onto it. As soon as it deleted the pre-installed soundfont on my first write attempt, that's when the problems start. Now it just acts like I'm writing to it/modifying settings, but in reality is doing nothing of the sort.

As far as updating drivers, Device Manager told me it's up to date, and as of yet see no updates version online to grab. The only other method I can try at this point is using a USB hub. Otherwise I'll need to wait back and see what US says. I've spent WAY too much time troubleshooting it, it's becoming obsessive.  Roll Eyes
Logged

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2021, 09:52:35 AM »

Well, tried a USB hub. Shredded one of the ports on my computer (Onn thought it'd be cool to have a micro-USB plug embedded into a USB-A; how does even work?) AND it fried it AND the port next to it.

So I'm done with this lightsaber. It's cost me WAY too much stress than it's worth. I ain't dealing with it anymore. Feel free to lock this thread.
Logged

nunya
Knight Captain
*

Force Alignment: 59
Posts: 405



« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2021, 12:10:09 PM »

Well, tried a USB hub. Shredded one of the ports on my computer
ouch!  sorry to read that. 
i recommend to wait for customer service at this point - it is not worth the added stress. 
Logged

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2021, 06:06:53 AM »

Gonna post this should it be relevant:

US reached out. Current theory is the .wav requirements for the new launcher may be conflicting with my saber's newer board. v2.86 of the launcher requires I upload .wav, uncompressed, mono, 16-bit, @23438 Hz. Mind you, the launcher won't even let me accidentally upload the wrong type of file into it, so it's impossible to deviate from its parameters.

Assuming my board is the one reflected on the store listing, it accepts 48000 Hz.

Will update if we learn any more.
Logged

Cyclops942
Knight Commander
*

Force Alignment: 510
Posts: 2877


ASU Quidditch -- Brooms up!


« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2021, 07:26:37 AM »

Well, tried a USB hub. Shredded one of the ports on my computer (Onn thought it'd be cool to have a micro-USB plug embedded into a USB-A; how does even work?) AND it fried it AND the port next to it.

First, Iím sorry to hear that; thatís just ridiculous. 

Second, Iím glad youíre continuing to post updates to help the rest of the community; some folks get so frustrated that they just drop the subject, and that doesnít help anyone else who might be having the same or similar problems.

Third, could you post the brand and model of the USB hub that did this, so that we all know to stay away from it?  That just sounds crazy.  And Iím with youó how would it work to embed a micro-USB plug into a USB-A plug?
Logged

LEGEND: 🔇= Stunt, 🔊= V4 Premium Sound, ⚡= Flash on Clash, 💎= Diamond Controller

__Aeon LE v3 🔇 in CG  __Initiate v2 🔇 in FO  __Initiate v2 🔇 in AB  __Dark Apprentice LE v5 🔇 in AS  Dark Catalyst in BH 🔊 ⚡AS  __Crimson Scorpion 🔊 BR⚡GB  __Azure Fallen 💎 in DVA fading to VA , ⚡ AS  __Frankensaber 💎 in SY fading to CG with ⚡ GB  ó Currently traveling with co-owner

Light Side points preferred, when warranted

d91
Knight Aspirant
*

Force Alignment: 2
Posts: 16


« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2021, 07:53:10 AM »

No problem. If this'll help other folks, I'm all for it. And even before US replied back, I wondered if the bitrate was a factor. I'm guessing I won't know for certain just yet. But yeah, after 11 hours of troubleshooting over three days, I had to walk away from it, let US help me out.  I got bigger things to worry about.

Here's the USB Hub. https://www.walmart.com/ip/onn-Multi-Port-USB-Hub-with-SD-Micro-SD-and-Compact-Flash-Card-Reader/325546611

NEVER. BUY. THIS.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Send this topic | Print
Jump to: