Click here for lightsabers
  • Home
  • Help
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Possible super bright saber  (Read 5059 times)
Xenex
Knight Sergeant

Force Alignment: 1

« on: May 23, 2012, 12:05:10 AM »

OK just putting this out there that I have no experience with electronics so this is only an idea of mine ok?(so dont be too mean;D)

I was at a local car part store the other day and was meandering around when I came across the lights section.Here I found "blue vision" bulbs.I cant remember the brand or anything but I did see them in action and they were bright as!! I was wondering if these could somehow be retrofitted to an ultrasaber.I realise youd probably have to have a 4 aa battery holder and run on trustfires 3.7 volt batteries as supplied on the site (as well as a resistor probably), and youd need a longer stlye emitter to fit the bulb but could it work?

What are emotions? Truely to understand the nature of the force one must not have emotions...however to truely ultise the force one must understand them...lacking my own emotions I draw my power from others, I draw power from all emotions from anyone and thus am unbeatable...

Temple
Knight Lt. Commander

Force Alignment: 90

Jedi Battle Knight

« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 04:10:40 AM »

careful of your heat output....

A jedi Must sometimes prepare for war, and prepared we are ~ Temple

Master Lucien Kane
Resident Master
Knight Commander

Force Alignment: 296

Jedi Knight of the Old Republic

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 06:36:34 AM »

In theory yes, but in practice it's a different ballgame. The experience I have with LED's is limited at best, but I've wired a few up, and I slept at a holiday inn last night... (seriously no one uses this joke anymore)

As Temple said, finding a heatsink that will accommodate for the heat output is going to be a challenge, also room also power source.

There is a reason the LED's that are being used are in use. They are the best for the job.